Jim Jarmusch Collaborator Jozef Van Wissem Announces 'It Is Time for You to Return'

Jim Jarmusch Collaborator Jozef Van Wissem Announces 'It Is Time for You to Return'
Dutch composer/lutenist Jozef Van Wissem teamed up with Jim Jarmusch for a couple of high-profile collaborations in recent years, but he's since returned to his solo career. His latest album is It Is Time for You to Return, which will be out on December 2 through Crammed Discs.

While this is billed as a solo effort, Jarmusch makes a guest appearance, alongside Lebanese singer Yasmine Hamdan. Chilean filmmaker Domingo Garcia-Huidobro additionally contributes electronic programming to two cuts.

For a taste of the album, scroll past the tracklist to check out the video for "Love Destroys All Evil" below. The song is a haunting mix of baroque lute playing and hypnotic chants, while the accompanying video by Jacqueline Castel channels religious and Southern Gothic imagery to creepy effect. It's in keeping with the priestly tone of the album cover (above).

Despite marking Van Wissem's first attempt at adding his own vocals, this album is part of Crammed Discs' revived Made to Measure series (which originally ran from 1984 to 1995 and focused on instrumental music) and follows Van Wissem's contribution to Jarmusch's Only Lovers Left Alive film and work in the director's band SQURL.

See Van Wissem's upcoming tour schedule, which takes place almost exclusively in Europe, right here.

It Is Time for You to Return:

1. If There's Nothing Left Where Will You Go?
2. Love Destroys All Evil
3. Once More with Feeling
4. Confinement
5. Wherever You Will Live I Will Live
6. You Can't Take It with You
7. Temple Dance of the Soul
8. After We Leave
9. Invocation of the Spirit Spell