Jesus & Mary Chain to Re-release Back Catalogue as Expanded Reissues

Jesus & Mary Chain to Re-release Back Catalogue as Expanded Reissues
Celebrated Scottish noise poppers the Jesus & Mary Chain are gearing up for a massive reissue campaign that will have each of their six studio albums expanded into two-CD/one-DVD packages. This isn't the first time the group revisited their back catalogue, as Rhino released a number of DualDisc versions of their albums in 2006, but these new editions will feature a ton of bonus material.

As Slicing Up Eyeballs reports, the campaign kicks off with re-releases of 1985's Psychocandy and 1987's Darklands, which both come out September 19 via Demon Music Group. It should be noted that this is a European release date and no plans have been announced as of yet to issue the sets in North America.

Each package contains over 30 bonus tracks, from B-sides to unreleased demos and alternate takes. The DVDs feature live clips, promo videos and television performances. Also included with each reissue is a 32-page booklet of photos and interviews. You can check out the expanded tracklistings of Psychocandy and Darklands below.

While Demon Music Group hasn't officially announced the rest of the campaign, Amazon UK lists the release date for 1989's Automatic and 1992's Honey's Dead as September 26, while 1994's Stoned & Dethroned and 1998's Munki are supposedly set for an October 3 release. The details on these releases have yet to be unveiled.


CD 1

1. "Just Like Honey"

2. "The Living End"

3. "Taste The Floor"

4. "The Hardest Walk"

5. "Cut Dead"

6. "In A Hole"

7. "Taste Of Cindy"

8. "Never Understand"

9. "Inside Me"

10. "Sowing Seeds"

11. "My Little Underground"

12. "You Trip Me Up"

13. "Something's Wrong"

14. "It's So Hard"

15. "Suck"

16. "Ambition"

17. "Just Out Of Reach"

18. "Boyfriend's Dead"

19. "Head"

20. "Cracked"

CD 2

1. "Upside Down"

2. "Vegetable Man"

3. "In A Hole"

4. "You Trip Me Up"

5. "Never Understand"

6. "Taste The Floor"

7. "The Living End"

8. "Inside Me"

9. "Just Like Honey"

10. "Some Candy Talking"

11. "Psychocandy"

12. "You Trip Me Up"

13. "Cut Dead"

14. "Up Too High"

15. "Upside Down"

16. "Never Understand"

17. "Taste The Floor"

18. "In A Hole"

19. "Something's Wrong"

20. "Just Like Honey"

21. "The Living End"

22. "My Little Underground"

23. "Never Understand" (Alternate Version)

24. "Jesus Fuck"


1. "Never Understand"

2. "You Trip Me Up"

3. "Just Like Honey"

4. "In A Hole" (Old Grey Whistle Test)

5. "Riot at North London Polytechnic" (Interview and Live Clips)

6. "Interview" (VRT, Belgium)

7. "Never Understand" (VRT, Belgium)

8. "Just Like Honey" (The Tube)

9. "Inside Me" (The Tube)


CD 1

1. "Darklands"

2. "Deep One Perfect Morning"

3. "Happy When It Rains"

4. "Down On Me"

5. "Nine Million Rainy Days"

6. "April Skies"

7. "Fall"

8. "Cherry Came Too"

9. "On The Wall"

10. "About You"

11. "Some Candy Talking"

12. "Taste Of Cindy" (Acoustic Version)

13. "Psychocandy"

14. "Hit"

15. "Darklands"

16. "Down On Me"

17. "Deep One Perfect Morning"

18. "Fall"

19. "In The Rain"

20. "Happy Place"

CD 2

1. "Kill Surf City"

2. "Bo Diddley Is Jesus"

3. "Who Do You Love"

4. "Everything's Alright When You're Down"

5. "Shake"

6. "Happy When It Rains" (Demo)

7. "Happy Place"

8. "F.Hole"

9. "Rider"

10."On The Wall" (Portastudio Demo)

11. "Surfin' USA" (April Outtake)

12. "Here It Comes Again"

13. "Walk And Crawl"

14. "Some Candy Talking" (NME Version)

15. "Mushroom"

16. "The Hardest Walk" (Soundtrack Version)

17. "Don't Ever Change"

18. "Swing"

19. "Darklands" (With Strings)

20. "Interview" (Janice Long)


1. "Some Candy Talking"

2. "April Skies"

3. "Kill Surf City"

4. "Happy When It Rains"

5. "Darklands"

6. "April Skies" (Top Of The Pops)

7. "April Skies" (Villa Tempo)

8. "Happy When It Rains" (The Roxy)