Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter Return with Marble Son

Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter Return with <i>Marble Son</i>
The long wait for the follow-up to Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter's 2007 disc Like, Love, Lust & the Open Halls of the Soul is almost over. The sombre, country-tinged outfit have finally recorded a new full-length album, Marble Son, which will be heading to North America this summer.

A press release explains that the album, set to be released August 2, was produced by raspy singer Sykes and longtime bandmate Phil Wandscher, who will self-release Marble Son on their own imprint, Station Grey Records. While the band have been labelled an alt-country act in the past, the new record is said to take the act into "slightly heavier and darker territories."

Sykes explains in a statement that Marble Son is "a sonic mirror of the most chaotic, turbulent times of our lives, where beauty triumphed, and the tears that spilled became this record... We have never been closer to sounding like the sweet hereafter than with what we have created here."

While Marble Son isn't due out in North America until August, the album was recently released in Europe via Fargo Records, which has provided a full-album stream. Take a listen in the player below the tracklisting.

Marble Son:

1. "Hushed By Devotion"
2. "Marble Son"
3. "Come To Mary"
4. "Servant Of Your Vision"
5. "Ceiling's High"
6. "Be It Me, Or Be It None"
7. "Pleasuring The Divine"
8. "Weight Of Cancer"
9. "Birds Of Passerine"
10. "Your Own Kind"
11. "Wooden Roses"