Jesse and the Dandelions 'A Mutual Understanding' (album stream)

Jesse and the Dandelions'A Mutual Understanding' (album stream)
Jesse and the Dandelions hail from Lethbridge, AB, and the band pay tribute to their hometown on the new album, A Mutual Understanding. Prior to the disc's October 15 release through Old Ugly Recording Co., it's available to stream in full on

The disc was produced at home in Lethbridge by frontman Jesse Northey, and a press release explains, "These are songs about building and breaking, loving and hating, and realizing we all have the power within us to decide which path to take, but we must make those difficult choices on our own."

The tunes are perky, electric guitar-driven pop-rock numbers, which are fleshed out by acoustic strums on "Only Just Be Friends," futuristic synths on "Friends of Mine," and violin (played by Yes Nice's Nathan Wong) on "Break Me." The results channel an emotive brightness that recalls Death Cab for Cutie and aim to tug on those ol' heartstrings.

You can check out A Mutual Understanding below for yourself.