Jean-Michel Jarre Adds Air, Fuck Buttons, Moby, Laurie Anderson to New Album

Jean-Michel Jarre Adds Air, Fuck Buttons, Moby, Laurie Anderson to New Album
Veteran electronic music great Jean-Michel Jarre has been dropping hints about his ridiculously diverse, star-studded new album for a while. We already knew that it featured the likes of M83Massive Attack, Tangerine DreamGesaffelstein and John Carpenter. As if that somehow weren't enough people, he's added even more to the release.

Though previously thought to be called E-Project, the album has been retitled Electronica, with the first volume going under the name Electronica Part 1: The Time Machine. It marks Jarre's first full-length since 2007's Téo & Téa, and its cover art is available above.

But enough about those details, you're here for guests. In addition to the aforementioned studio buddies, the album is rounded out by Boys Noize, Air, Depeche Mode's Vince Clarke, Little Boots, Fuck Buttons, Moby, the Who's Pete Townshend, Laurie Anderson, Armin van Buuren and Lang Lang.

"I've wanted to tell a story for a while regarding electronic music history and its legacy from my point of view and experience, from when I started to nowadays," Jarre said in a statement. "So I planned to compose for and collaborate with an array of artists who are, directly or indirectly linked to this scene, with people I admire for their singular contribution to our genre, that represent a source of inspiration for me over the last four decades I have been making music, but who also have an instantly recognizable sound. At the outset, I had no idea how this project would evolve, but I was delighted that everybody I reached out to accepted my invitation."

You'll find the full tracklisting for Electronica Part 1: The Time Machine below, along with a new trailer for the album. The release arrives in full on October 16 via Ultra. It'll be followed by a second volume in the spring next year, and we can't wait to see who ends up on that one.

Electronica Part 1: The Time Machine:

1. The Time Machine (ft. Boys Noize)
2. Glory (ft. M83)
3. Close your eyes (ft. Air)
4. Automatic (part 1) (ft. Vince Clarke)
5. Automatic (part 2) (ft. Vince Clarke)
6. If..! (ft. Little Boots)
7. Immortals (ft. Fuck Buttons)
8. Suns have gone (ft. Moby)
9. Conquistador (ft. Gesaffelstein)
10. Travelator (part 2) (ft. Pete Townshend)
11. Zero Gravity (ft. Tangerine Dream)
12. Rely on me (ft. Laurie Anderson)
13. Stardust (ft. Armin van Buuren)
14. Watching you (ft. 3D (Massive Attack)
15. A question of blood (ft. John Carpenter)
16. The train & the river (ft. Lang Lang)