Jawbox Reissue Self-Titled LP

Jawbox Reissue Self-Titled LP
Aside from the odd performance, DC post-hardcore greats Jawbox have been disbanded for close to 20 years. Fans can celebrate the group's last hurrah again, though, via an upcoming reissue of their final album.

While 1996's Jawbox had initially been delivered on CD through Atlantic records subsidiary TAG and on vinyl via DeSoto, an upcoming remastered edition of the set lands via Dischord/DeSoto on vinyl, CD and digitally. The 14-song set has been remastered by Dan Coutant at Sunroom Audio.

Jawbox, the band's fourth LP, was recorded in Hoboken, NJ, back in the winter of 1995 with producer John Agnello (Kurt Vile, Dinosaur Jr.). The record is described as a more experimental follow-up to 1994's For Your Own Special Sweetheart and augmented the band's guitar, bass and drums arrangements to also include Hammond B3 organ, saxophone and a "toy drum kit."

"I feel like that's our kind of kitchen sink record," vocalist/guitarist J. Robbins said in a statement of the wide-reaching Jawbox. "Sweetheart was barebones — just the best, most perfectly played representation of the band playing those songs. By the end of that recording process, we had a groove on who was going to do what and we thought, 'now we can consciously incorporate our weird influences from other places.'"

Robbins noted that while the band had been burning out at the time, due to constant touring and label issues, he argued that Jawbox might have been their most fully realized LP.

"I think that we thought of it as our best record," he added. "Every other Jawbox record was, like, 'We have 12 songs, lets go record.' This was the one record where we had the sense that 'Are we ready?' — we had a vision about how things should be, followed it through, and pushed the envelope aesthetically for ourselves."

After touring behind the LP, Jawbox called it quits in 1997. It capped an eight-year career but led to the formation of Robbins and guitarist Bill Barbot's next band, Burning Airlines. Jawbox had, however, reunited in 2009 for a performance on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.

The Dischord/DeSoto-delivered repress of Jawbox follows reissues of 1991's Grippe, 1992's Novelty and an expanded edition of For Your Own Special Sweetheart.


1. Mirrorful
2. Livid
3. Iodine
4. His Only Trade
5. Chinese Fork Tie
6. Won't Come Off
7. Excandescent
8. Spoiler
9. Desert Sea
10. Empire of One
11. Mule/Stall
12. Nickel Nickel Millionaire
13. Capillary Life
14. Absenter