Jane's Addiction Box Set On the Way

Jane's Addiction Box Set On the Way
Like it or not, it appears it's time for a Jane's Addiction resurgence. Along with a reunited line-up, a summer tour with Nine Inch Nails and perhaps a new album being produced by Trent Reznor, the one-time alt-rock heroes are now readying a massive new box set, as well as refreshing our memories with a pair of vinyl reissues.

First, the box set. It's being dubbed A Cabinet of Curiosities and is due out April 21 via Rhino. It includes three CDs and one DVD of Jane's rarities, all contained in a wooden box - or cabinet - and it is limited.

On the first disc, you'll find a pile of unreleased demos from 1986 and 1987, ranging from "Jane Says" to "Classic Girl" to "Ocean Size" to "Three Days." The second disc will be even more demos, plus unreleased live tracks and rare covers of the Stooges, the Grateful Dead, Led Zeppelin and a rendition of Sly and the Family Stone's "Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey," which features Ice-T. Meanwhile, the third disc is made up of a live recording of a December 1990 show.

For the DVD, it will include the infamous Jane's home video Soul Kiss and its "aerobics for junkies" - which have never before been on DVD - as well as the MTV-banned video for "Mountain Song" and various other vids.

In addition to A Cabinet of Curiosities, Rhino plans to reissue the 1988 Jane's album Nothing's Shocking and 1990's Ritual De Lo Habitual, both on 180-gram vinyl, coming to participating Record Store Day retailers April 18. There are no extra tracks on these records but it will mark the first time they have been available on vinyl in a long time.

Here is what is on A Cabinet of Curiosities:

Disc 1:

1. "Jane Says" (Radio Tokyo Demo) *
2. "Pigs in Zen" (Radio Tokyo Demo) *
3. "Mountain Song" (Radio Tokyo Demo) *
4. "Had a Dad" (Radio Tokyo Demo) *
5. "I Would for You" (Radio Tokyo Demo) *
6. "Idiots Rule" (Demo) *
7. "Classic Girl" (Demo) *
8. "Up the Beach" (Demo) *
9. "Suffer Some" (Demo) *
10. "Thank You Boys" (Demo) *
11. "Summertime Rolls" (Demo) *
12. "City" (Demo) *
13. "Ocean Size" (Demo) *
14. "Stop!" (Demo) *
15. "Standing in the Shower... Thinking" (Demo) *
16. "Ain't No Right" (Demo) *
17. "Three Days" (Demo) *

Disc 2

1. "Ted, Just Admit It..." (Demo) *
2. "Maceo" (Demo) *
3. "No One's Leaving" (Demo) *
4. "My Time" (Rehearsal) *
5. "Been Caught Stealing" (12" Remix Version)
6. "Ripple"
7. "Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey" [feat. Ice-T & Ernie-C]
8. "L.A. Medley: L.A. Woman/Nausea/Lexicon Devil" (Live)
9. "Kettle Whistle" (Live) *
10. "Whole Lotta Love" (Live) *
11. "1970" (Live) *
12. "Bobhaus" (Live) *

Disc 3:

1. "Drum Intro" (Live) *
2. "Up the Beach" (Live)
3. "Whores" (Live) *
4. "1%" (Live) *
5. "No One's Leaving" (Live)
6. "Ain't No Right" (Live)
7. "Then She Did..." (Live) *
8. "Had a Dad" (Live) *
9. "Been Caught Stealing" (Live) *
10. "Three Days" (Live)
11. "Mountain Song" (Live) *
12. "Stop!" (Live)
13. "Summertime Rolls" (Live) *
14. "Ocean Size" (Live) *


Soul Kiss:

1. "Mountain Song" (Unedited Version)
2. "City"

Music videos:

3. "Had a Dad"
4. "Ocean Size"
5. "Stop!"
6. "Been Caught Stealing"
7. "Classic Girl"
8. "Ain't No Right"

Live at the City Square in Milan (for MTV Italy, October 1990)

9. "Whores" *
10. "Then She Did..." *
11. "Three Days" *

* previously unreleased