Jamie Lidell Returns with New Album, Premieres "Walk Right Back"

Jamie Lidell Returns with New Album, Premieres "Walk Right Back"
While Jamie Lidell last left us with the standalone "Pink Light" and "Believe in Me" singles in 2015, the UK soul-pop artist is about to brighten up our days with his sixth full-length album. He'll start Building a Beginning on October 14 via Jajulin Records.

The 14-song studio effort marks the first album from Lidell since his self-titled collection from 2013. A press release explains that this latest effort acts as "a meditation on love and family," this being inspired by the birth of his son. Specifically, the album's "Julian" is a shaker he wrote with his kid in mind.

"I wanted to write something that he wants to jump around to," Lidell said in a statement, adding that the track is his attempt to channel "the energy and joy that's now in our life."

The album is said to tap into the "psychedelic soul-think" of Marvin Gaye's landmark What's Going On?, with other touchstones including the Temptations and Stevie Wonder. Helping him see this through is a team of musicians that includes bassist Pino Palladino (D'Angelo, Gary Numan), drummer DaRu Jones (Jack White), multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone, and back-up singers Kudisan Kai, Traci Brown Bailey, and Tiffany Smith. Lidell's wife Lindsey Rome also helped pen the "incredibly personal lyrics."

To help promote the new record, Lidell is streaming out Building a Beginning's "Walk Right Back." You'll find a lyric vid for the lusciously arranged soul piece down below, along with the album's tracklisting.

Building a Beginning:

1. Building a Beginning
2. Julian
3. I live to Make You Smile
4. Find It Hard to Say
5. Me and You
6. How Did I Live Before Your Love
7. Walk Right Back
8. Nothing's Gonna Change
9. In Love and Alone
10. Motionless
11. Believe In Me
12. I Stay Inside
13. Precious Years
14. Don't Let Me Let You Go