Interpol's Sam Fogarino Lines Up Debut LP as EmptyMansions

Interpol's Sam Fogarino Lines Up Debut LP as EmptyMansions
Paul Banks isn't the only Interpol member issuing material outside of his main gig these days, as drummer Sam Fogarino has announced a project of his own, EmptyMansions. The first full-length from the act is titled snakes/vultures/sulfate, and it drops April 2 via Riot House Records.

Press materials explain that Fogarino wrote many of the songs on the road between 2009 and 2011, while touring behind Interpol's self-titled LP. During that tour, the musician formed a bond with Secret Machines founder and Interpol touring member Brandon Curtis, who ended up producing and playing bass and keyboards on the LP. Also roped into the proceedings is Tomahawk guitarist Duane Denison.

Stylistically, the eight-song set apparently mixes Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin influences with those of Sonic Youth and the Pixies. It also closes out with a cover of Neil Young's "Down By the River." Lyrically, Fogarino actually sings a song about the Pixies' Black Francis ("That Man"), but also homes in on interstellar themes ("Lyra") and TV show Justified ("Up in the Holler").

You can stream "Lyra" down below.


1. Led to Measure
2. Lyra
3. Up in the Holler
4. FTC
5. Sulfate
6. That Man
7. [The Former] You
8. Down by the River