Interpol Announce 'El Pintor' Album

Interpol Announce 'El Pintor' Album
Indie rock/post-punk act Interpol haven't released a new album in four years, with their self-titled effort hitting shelves in 2010. They've been hinting at new material for a while, and that's finally set to arrive with the announcement of a new album.

The group's fifth full-length is called El Pintor, which is both Spanish for "the painter" and also an anagram of their own band name.

The record was recorded in New York City with time split between Electric Lady Studios and Atomic Sound. They recorded it with James Brown (Foo Fighters, Arctic Monkeys), and it was mixed in London by Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails).

While recording the album, Interpol tapped director Adam Levite to film some behind-the-scenes footage. The resulting three-minute video can be viewed below.

El Pintor will arrive on September 9 via Matador. The band are also set to play Toronto's Field Trip festival tomorrow (June 6).

El Pintor:

1. All the Rage Back Home
2. My Desire
3. Anywhere
4. Same Town, New Story
5. My Blue Supreme
6. Everything Is Wrong
7. Breaker 1
8. Ancient Ways
9. Tidal Wave
10. Twice as Hard