Ian La Rue's Heartbeat City Announce Debut Album

Ian La Rue's Heartbeat City Announce Debut Album
Ian La Rue has been active in the Winnipeg music scene since the '90s, releasing albums under his own name and being attached to acts like the Paperbacks, Flesh Auger and Unravelled Broken Orchestra. Now, he has a new band called Heartbeat City, and their debut album will arrive on August 7. It's called Thunder Amongst Us.

Heartbeat City was founded in 2010 but has gone under some changes since then. The lineup on Thunder Amongst Us features bassist Louis Leveques Cote (Boats) and violinist Nick Krueger (Violent Screech). The recordings were produced by La Rue himself along with Michael P. Falk (of Les Jupes) at Winnipeg's Paintbox Recording.

A press release describes the music as "indie folk rock." La Rue said in a statement, "Making this album was an intimate and vulnerable process and we put a lot of ourselves into it. It was an exercise in patience and respect for authenticity and sincerity. We're so excited to be able to share it now."

Scroll past the tracklist below to watch a video for the punchy "Lighthouse," and we see endless clones of the musicians performing the rocking tune as the camera scrolls steadily to the right.

Also below, check out the band's tour schedule. It currently consists of a string of Western Canadian dates in August, and more shows will be announced soon.

Thunder Amongst Us:

1. Small Victories
2. Tent City
3. Grinner
4. Darker Than
5. Walker
6. Ghost
7. Morpheus Rising
8. Lighthouse
9. Brophy
10. Organ Failure  

Tour dates:

08/14 Saskatoon, SK - Vangelis Pub
08/15 Edmonton, AB - Black Dog Freehouse
08/16 Edmonton, AB - house show
08/17 Golden, BC - Rockwater Grill & Bar
08/19 Vancouver, BC - The Railway Club
08/21 Lethbridge, AB - The Slice