Hot Chip Offshoot About Group to Go 'Between the Walls'

Hot Chip Offshoot About Group to Go 'Between the Walls'
Members of Hot Chip, This Heat, Spiritualized and more are reuniting once again as About Group to deliver their third full-length, Between the Walls, which Domino will drop into stores July 2.

A press release notes that the 12-song set has Hot Chip singer Alexis Taylor, drummer Charles Hayward (This Heat), guitarist John Coxon (Spiritualized, Spring Heel Jack) and jazz keyboardist Pat Thomas navigating the spaces between arranged compositions and improvised material. Apparently the record delivers "the sound of people pushing towards and pulling against one another simultaneously."

In a statement, Taylor said, "The balance between songwriting and free playing, and a lack of clarity about which mode we will be in for any given amount of time, is the key to About Group."

Amongst its "sad songs and country ballads," you'll apparently hear "odd electronic textures" co-mingling with straight melodies and "sudden musical non-sequiturs." You can sample some of About Group's adventuring down below via a stream of album track "Walk On By."

Between the Walls:

1. After Video
2. Walk On By
3. All Is Not Lost
4. Words
5. Graph Paper

6. Make The World Laugh
7. Love Because
8. Nightlife/Sinking
9 . Untitled
10. I Never Lock That Door
11. Yes
12. If You Can't Love Me