The Horrors Announce 'Luminous' Album

The Horrors Announce 'Luminous' Album
Shape-shifting indie outfit the Horrors have taken a lengthy break since the release of their 2011 LP Skying. At long last, they've finally announced plans to release a follow-up.

The new release will be called Luminous and will arrive on May 6 via XL Recordings (who will release the album a day earlier overseas).

Speaking with NME, Horrors frontman Faris Badwan explained the reason for the album's title, saying, "It's a powerful image: giving off light and releasing energy. It sums up a lot of the ways we make music. One thing that's always been central to the band is that we've kept the same level of intensity since the beginning."

As for how the album sounds, he said, "This is the album I've been most excited about releasing. I think it would be misleading to say it's got more guitars or more synths, because half the time the guitars sound like synths anyway. Is it fair to say there's more of everything?"

The album's lead single "I See You" will be played on KCRW's "Morning Becomes Eclectic" and Zane Lowe's BBC Radio 1 program later today (February 24). For now, you can watch a live video of the track, featuring Thurston Moore, below.

UPDATE: You can hear the studio version of "I See You" at the bottom of the page.


1. Chasing Shadows
2. First Day Of Spring
3. So Now You Know
4. In and Out Of Sight
5. Jealous Sun
6. Falling Star
7. I See You
8. Change Your Mind
9. Mine and Yours
10. Sleepwalk