The Holydrug Couple Reveal 'Moonlust' for Sacred Bones

The Holydrug Couple Reveal 'Moonlust' for Sacred Bones
The Chilean contingent of the Sacred Bones Records family is representing in full force this year. Following news that Föllakzoid would issue an EP later this month, it's now been revealed that fellow Santiago residents the Holydrug Couple have an album called Moonlust rising May 12.

A press release explains that the sophomore full-length from Ives Sepúlveda and Manuel Parra was self-produced and expands upon the psych-minded flavours of 2013's Notuary. This time around, they've apparently added elements of vintage French film soundtracks, '80s synth-pop, soul ballads and more to the mix. Touchstones are said to include Aretha Franklin, Air, Serge Gainsbourg and Latin American synth groups like Los Encargados, Virus and Los Prisioneros.

"I definitely wanted to make a good-sounding record, clear and heavy," Sepúlveda said in a statement. "I wanted to get away as much as possible from the 'band' sound. The last album wasn't recorded live, but I tried to make it sound as if it had been. This time, I wanted to make an electronic-like album instead."

As for the lyrical content on the LP, Sepúlveda explained that Moonlust deals with themes of unrequited lust and desire. He added, "It's an unrealistic target, like God, maybe, or a dream archetype of a goddess. It's the feeling of melancholy that you can't fulfill with anything."

Down below, you'll find the suitably titled first single, "Dreamy," and the new album's tracklisting info.


1. Atlantic Postcard

2. Dreamy

3. Light or Night

4. French Movie Theme

5. If I Could Find You (Eternity)

6. I Don't Feel Like It

7. Concorde

8. Baby, I'm Going Away

9. Generique Noir

10. Submarine Gold

11. U Don't Wake Up

12. Remember Well