Hayden Celebrates 20th Anniversary of 'Everything I Long For' with Vinyl Reissue and Canadian Tour

Hayden Celebrates 20th Anniversary of 'Everything I Long For' with Vinyl Reissue and Canadian Tour
Twenty years on from the release of Hayden's gruff-voiced full-length debut, Everything I Long For, the album remains an iconic time capsule for mid-'90s Canadian indie rock. To celebrate, the beloved singer-songwriter is giving the record a brand new vinyl pressing and taking the songs on tour.

A press release explains that Hayden Desser's own Hardwood Recordings will issue the repress on April 1. The double-LP set presents the U.S. running order of the LP, which arrived in 1996 and was two songs shorter than the original 1995 Canadian edition. That said, the D side to the new vinyl release includes the Canuck edition's "I Almost Cried," as well as demos and outtakes and Hayden's recipe for Kraft Dinner.

Sadly, if you're a completist, the repress still omits "Bunkbed."

The sessions were remastered by Joao Carvalho, with the vinyl arriving in a hand-numbered run of 1,000 copies on white vinyl. The limited release also comes with a download card, a handwritten lyric sheet and a collage of era-appropriate memorabilia. Pre-orders are up for grabs over here.

Everything I Long For kickstarted Hayden's career, with opening single "Bad As They Seem" introducing listeners to a much growlier Hayden than we'd hear in the years to come. The single was a MuchMusic staple in the mid-'90s.

"I've always had a bit of a complex relationship with this record," Desser said in a statement, "but with all of the personal baggage it comes with, I can't deny the impact it has had on my life and the meaning it had to a certain group of people in the mid 1990s. For that, I've made the decision to briefly go back in time and celebrate the first songs I ever wrote."

To celebrate the re-release, Desser has revealed an album-themed tour, which travels through Ontario and Quebec this April. You'll find the date details beneath the tracklisting info.

Everything I Long For 20:

1. Bad As They Seem
2. In September
3. We Don't Mind
4. Tragedy
5. Stem
6. Skates
7. I'm to Blame
8. Assignment In Space with Rip Foster
9. Driveway
10. Hardly
11. You Were Loved
12. When This Is Over
13. My Parent's House
14. Lounging
15. Original Recipes
16. I Almost Cried
17. Trees Lounge (demo)
18. Bad As They Seem (Cassette Version)
19. Recipes (Out-Takes)

Tour dates:

04/02 Wakefield, QC - The Black Sheep Inn
04/03 Peterborough, ON - Gordon Best Theatre
04/04 Kingston, ON -The Grad Club
04/07 Hamilton, ON - Dundas Montessori
04/08 Ridgeway, ON - The Sanctuary
04/09 London, ON - Aeolian Hall
04/11 Waterloo, ON - Starlight Social Club
04/12 Owen Sound, ON - Heartwood Concert Hall
04/13 Creemore, ON - Avening Hall
04/15 Toronto, ON - Trinity-St Paul's United Church