HarpAcash & the Morals Announce Debut Album, Share "Douglas Snow"

HarpAcash & the Morals Announce Debut Album, Share 'Douglas Snow'
Barrie, ON unit HarpAcash & the Morals started off their summer with a cover of Drake's "One Dance," but the indie-folk trio will deliver some music of their own this fall. Their Lamps arrives September 23 through new label home Latent Recordings.

The record follows the group's Music Tree Life Understanding EP from 2012, as well as touring with the likes of Elliott Brood and Cowboy Junkies. A press release explains that it's travelling with the latter that had Junkies member Michael Timmins wanting to hit the studio with the group as their producer.

"Their music pulled me from backstage and compelled me to listen," Timmins said in a statement. "HarpAcash's vocals alone are a force of nature, but joined with Todd Jeffery's angular song structures and Dan Trickett's powerful, multi-dimensional drumming, their music becomes wholly original."

While Lamps is the first collection from the group in four years, it includes their 2013 Bandcamp single "Sleeping in a Hammock." The rest of the record is apparently full of "heartbreaking harmonies, graceful guitars, and the idiosyncratic minimalist percussion."

To preview the platter, HarpAcash & the Morals are streaming the nine-song release's "Douglas Snow," which band leader HarpAcash says is about "being little and how we perceive things as children."

She adds: "It's about our job to keep all children safe so they can freely enjoy being young and carefree."

You'll find the song, as well as tracklisting info and details on a few upcoming concert dates, below.


1. Modern Comfortable
2. Douglas Snow
3. Sleeping In A Hammock
4. Frozen
5. Like Life
6. Complicated
7. In My Room
8. Light Source
9. Cold Bath

Tour dates:

07/29 Barrie, ON - The Roxy Theatre
08/04 Toronto, ON - The Horseshoe Tavern
08/29 Thornbury, ON - Bruce Wine Bar