Grizzly Bear's Daniel Rossen Announces New Warp EP

Grizzly Bear's Daniel Rossen Announces New Warp EP
Evidently, playing in Grizzly Bear and Department of Eagles isn't enough to satisfy Daniel Rossen's creative appetite. The songwriter just announced a solo EP called Silent Hour/Golden Mile, which comes out via Warp on March 20.

An announcement from the label notes that these five songs began as possible demos for Grizzly Bear, but developed into "a unified declaration -- about unease with the world around you, about indeterminacy in your own life, and the ability somehow to navigate both... delivering sometimes uneasy thoughts redeemed by strong-willed rock settings."

Much of the album was recorded by Rossen himself in rehearsal rooms around New York City. The multi-instrumentalist played the bulk of the instruments himself, from strings to drums, although he did enlist help from Scott Hirsch (lap steel), Ian Davis and Kris Nolte (horns), and Dr. Dog's Eric Slick (drums on "Golden Mile"). The collection was mixed by Nicolas Vernhes (Dirty Projectors, Deerhunter) at the Rare Book Room.

See the tracklist below, and scroll down to hear the EP cut "Saint Nothing." The album cover is above.

Silent Hour/Golden Mile:

1. "Up on High"

2. "Silent Song"

3. "Return to Form"

4. "Saint Nothing"

5. "Golden Mile"