Grandaddy's Jason Lytle Returns with New Solo Album

Grandaddy's Jason Lytle Returns with New Solo Album
Earlier in the year, Jason Lytle of the recently reunited Grandaddy announced that he would be releasing his latest solo album this summer. Even though he's a little behind schedule, the songwriter has now confirmed the details of his latest LP. Entitled Dept. of Disappearance, it's due out October 16 through Anti-.

According to a press release, the album is a "emotionally resonant soundtrack for a non-existent cinematic masterpiece" that "[infuses] the toil of ordinary existence with a sweeping sonic beauty."

This is the official follow-up to Lytle's 2009 album Yours Truly, The Commuter and comes two years after the 2010 collection Music Meant to Accompany the Art of Ron Cameron.

In a statement, Lytle promised that the latest LP would include plenty of sound experimentation. He said, "I have a lot of gear, from conventional and traditional to super-fucked and broken. And once those sounds get into the computer, it opens a whole other realm of 'tweakery.'"

You'll hear some of this sound trickery on the title track, which you can listen to over at SoundCloud [via Pitchfork].

He further explained that the album is like a roomful of "strange, brilliant autistic kids with very peculiar social skills. But there are a few conventional, good-looking ones who go out and shake hands and get the good jobs. Then they come home and help take care of the other weird, wonderful ones."

Look for Lytle to announce a solo tour for the fall as well.

Dept. of Disappearance:

1. Dept. of Disappearance

2. Matterhorn

3. Young Saints

4. Hangtown

5. Get Up and Go

6. Last Problem of the Alps

7. Willow Wand Willow Wand

8. Somewhere There's a Someone

9. Chopin Drives Truck to the Dump

10. Your Final Setting Sun

11. Gimme Click Gimme Grid