Gorillaz Reveal Release Details for Christmas Day Album

Gorillaz Reveal Release Details for Christmas Day Album
This Christmas, Gorillaz fans will be getting a present in the form of a brand new album, The Fall, which band leader Damon Albarn recorded on an iPad while touring North America. Now, we have a tracklist to whet our appetites as we count down the last days until Christmas.

An announcement on the Gorillaz website calls the album a "15 track sonic journal." Albarn said, "I literally wrote everything on the day in each place and there's a strange sort of sound of America and its musical traditions that comes through. It feels like a journey through America."

Given that the album is a document of being on the road in North America, it's fitting that the tracklist name drops locations like Arizona, Detroit, Shy-Town (aka Chicago), Dallas, Aspen, Phoenix, California and Seattle. It's interesting to note that these geographical references appear in the same order as the tour stops, meaning that the tracklist is probably in chronological order.

As for what the songs will sound like, the album will feature "some with vocals, some without, some combined performances and some solo."

However, the collection will only be available as a free download to members of Gorillaz' Sub Division fan club; non-members will be able to stream the album but not download it (legally).

Scroll past the tracklist to see an 18-second teaser for the opening track "Phoner to Arizona."

The Fall:

1. "Phoner to Arizona"
2. "Revolving Doors"
3. "HillBilly Man"
4. "Detroit"
5. "Shy-town"
6. "Little Pink Plastic Bags"
7. "The Joplin Spider"
8. "The Parish of Space Dust"
9. "The Snake in Dallas"
10. "Amarillo"
11. "The Speak It Mountains"
12. "Aspen Forest"
13. "Bobby in Phoenix"
14. "California and the Slipping of the Sun"
15. "Seattle Yodel"