Godspeed You! Black Emperor Unveil 'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress' LP

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Unveil 'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress' LP
Lift your skinny little fists up high in celebration, Godspeed You! Black Emperor fans, because the beloved Canadian experimental institution have revealed plans to release yet another LP. Titled Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress, the band's sixth full-length lands March 31 via Constellation.

A press release notes that Godspeed recorded the album with sound engineer Greg Norman at studios in North Carolina and Montreal. The result is said to be a trim, 40-minute outing "where composition, emotion and 'note-choice' is inextricable from an exacting focus on tone, timbre, resonance and the sheer materiality of sound."

While the collective delivered their 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! in 2012 , winning the Polaris Music Prize the following year, the compositions included had existed in some form for years. It's explained that Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress features the first "newly composed work" from the group since reforming in 2010. The material was road-tested for a couple of years before being laid to tape.

Down below, you'll hear excerpts from the set's opening "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!'"

Aside from the LP, Godspeed You! Black Emperor have a European tour starting in April, and will act as curators at this year's Sled Island festival in Calgary.

Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress :

1. Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!'

2. Lambs' Breath

3. Asunder, Sweet

4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled