Ghettosocks and Timbuktu Join Forces as Teenburger, Rope In D-Sisive to Guest on Debut

Ghettosocks and Timbuktu Join Forces as Teenburger, Rope In D-Sisive to Guest on Debut
Both Halifax spitter Ghettosocks and London, ON-based rapper Timbuktu are known for their throwback-flavoured hip-hop tunes, so it's not surprising to find out the pair's new collaborative project, Teenburger, features a distinctly old-school sound.

Together with DJ Jorun Bombay, the artists are about to unleash their Teenburger debut, Burgertime. A press release explains that the 20-song set celebrates growing up in the '80s and '90s via retro-production and fun-lovin' rhymes that chronicle "the real-life adventures of this rag-tag crew of hip-hop delinquents." Topics covered include meeting girls and scoring booze, so, really, it's a party record.

You can watch the vid for busy, break-laden first single "Rock the Discotech" below. You can also check out some songs on the outfit's Bandcamp page.

Aside from tossing the trio of Canadian hip-hop vets together on the debut disc, a handful of guests featured on Burgertime include D-Sisive, More Or Les, El da Sensei, DJiRATE and Saidah C.

"Fast times, dope beats, and rhymes are the order of the day on this debut album from one of Hip-Hop's meatiest rap combo," the press release posits of Burgertime.

Burgertime comes out September 6 on Droppin' Science, but is available now for pre-order here.


1. "8 AM"
2. "Wake Up" (ft. Jorun Bombay)
3. "Homeroom"
4. "Alice Cooper"
5. "English Tutor" (skit)
6. "Chemistry" (The New Science Remix)
7. "Ain't Trippin" Remix (ft. El Da Sensei)
8. "Oliver Clothesov" (skit)
9. "Kill Lincoln" (ft. D-Sisive)
10. "So Hot So Fresh" (ft. Jorun Bombay and Saidah C)
11. "Prom" (Rock the Discotech Remix)
12. "Party Scramble"
13. "Lost Boys"
14. "Halloween Special" (ft. DJiRATE)
15. "So Hungover"
16. "Three Bucks In Quarters"
17. "Food Court" (ft. Saidah C)
18. "Pop N Chips" Remix (ft. More or Les)
19. "Summer Jobs" (ft. Jorun Bombay)
20. "Drunk in the Sun"