Georgia Anne Muldrow Readies "First Rap Album"

Georgia Anne Muldrow Readies 'First Rap Album'
Singer and performer Georgia Anne Muldrow has already had a ridiculously prolific career, with 14 albums and three EPs to her name since 2006. While she's always maintained a hip-hop flavour, her releases have dabbled in funk, jazz, blues and electro. Up next, she's honing in solely on hip-hop.

The album is called A Thoughtiverse Unmarred, and it features 12 new songs from Muldrow.

A press release explains that the release is "her first rap album," and adds that the lyrics "balance a beautiful delivery with brutal honesty. These are the honest confessions of a mother who refuses to turn a blind eye to immediate and ancestral misdeeds. Her rhymes are conscious, but more importantly, they speak to our deeper conscience."

The album was produced entirely by Chris Keys, and the write-up adds that it recalls "the echoes of past oracles: Billie Holiday, Alice Coltrane, Erykah Badu, and Lauryn Hill."

A Thoughtiverse Unmarred will arrive on May 19 through Mello Music Group. Listen to the album's "Ankles" below.

A Thoughtiverse Unmarred:

1. Prologue
2. Monoculture
3. Great Blacks
4. Fifth Shield
5. The Outcome (feat. Mp Is Free & Declaime)
6. Ankles
7. Arkansas
8. Pop Iconz
9. Tungsten Babalawo
10. Child Shot
11. Gitdown (feat. Declaime)
12. Sans Vacay