Fundraiser Announced to Save Baghdad's Lone Metal Band

Fundraiser Announced to Save Baghdad's Lone Metal Band
Acrassicauda, an Iraqi metal band displaced by the war in Iraq, are the cause for an upcoming Montreal fundraiser featuring the work of a number of acclaimed international photographers. The subject of the 2007 documentary film Heavy Metal in Baghdad, which premiered at this year’s Toronto International Film Festival, the band currently reside in an undisclosed location in Syria. With their visas soon expiring, the band will be deported back to Iraq where, because of their association with Western culture, they risk losing their lives. The benefit will take place at the Emporium Gallery (3035 St. Antoine West, Studio 74 in Montreal) on October 26, from 7:00 pm to midnight, with extended showing times on October 27 and October 28 from 11:00 am to 8:00 pm.

Prints of the photographs will be on sale at heavymetalinbaghdad.com/photo. Funds will go towards helping the band relocate to a safer country.

Original prints for sale by:

Glynnis McDaris (http://www.glynnismcdaris.com) NYC
Jeremy & Claire Weiss (http://www.day19.com/v5) LA
Ryan Foerster (http://www.ryanfoerster.com) NYC
Eva Michon (http://www.evamichon.com) Toronto
Sebastien Grainger, Toronto
Jimmy Limit (http://www.jimmylimit.com) Toronto
Bob Kronbauer (http://www.bobkronbauer.com) Vancouver
Jeremy Jensen (http://www.stitchphoto.com) Toronto
Ben Pobjoy (http://www.benpobjoy.com) Montreal
Matthew Koudys (http://matthewkoudys.com) Toronto
Radeq Brousil (http://www.myspace.com/pgint) Prague
My Little Dead Dick (http://www.mylittledeaddick.com) Beijing
Robin Schwartz (http://robinschwartz.net/main.php) Hoboken, NJ
Jerry Hsu (http://www.epiclylaterd.com/jerry_page_one.html) San Jose, CA
Peter Beste (http://www.peterbeste.com) NYC
Gautier Deblonde (http://www.gautierdeblonde.com) London
Glynis Selina Arban (http://www.glynisarbanphotography.com) NYC
Jaimie Warren (http://www.dontyoufeelbetter.com) Kansas City, MO
Marcelo Gomes (http://www.fotologue.jp/eagleleavingl) NYC
Farhad Samari (www.farhadsamari.com) LA
Ami Sioux (http://www.amisioux.com/) Paris
Garry Trinh (http://www.garrytrinh.com/) Sydney
Agnes Thor (http://www.agneskarin.se/) Gotenburg
Jens Stoltze (http://www.jensstoltze.com) Copenhagen
Joel Barhamand (http://www.joelbarhamand.com) NYC
Whitney Hubbs (htpp://www.whitneyhubbs.com) LA
Angela Boatwright (http://www.angelaboatwright.com) LA
Ed Panar (http://www.edpanar.com/) Pittsburgh
Richelle Forsey (http://www.richelleforsey.com) Toronto
Tim Barber (http://www.tinyvices.com) NYC
Paul 107 (http://www.sekondhandprojects.com) Montreal
Ben Rayner (http://www.benrayner.com) London

Heavy Metal in Bagdad Trailer