Flaming Lips' Steven Drozd Releases Score for The Heart Is a Drum Machine

Flaming Lips' Steven Drozd Releases Score for <i>The Heart Is a Drum Machine</i>
Last year, director Christopher Pomerenke asked the question "what is music?" with the DVD release of his film, The Heart Is a Drum Machine. The documentary included interviews with a wide spectrum of musicians, filmmakers and artists, from Modest Mouse singer Isaac Brock and John Frusciante to Jason Schwartzman and Elijah Wood. The film also boasted a score from Flaming Lips multi-instrumentalist Steven Drozd.

Now, that score is getting its own release. In addition to an album's full of original ambient work from Drozd, the record also features a cover of Elton John's "Rocket Man," with vocals by none other than Tool-man Maynard James Keenan.

 The score will be released on January 18, courtesy of the Twinkle Cash Company, who previously released Keenan's wine-making documentary, Blood into Wine. The tracklisting for the soundtrack can be seen below, while opening song "Born" can be downloaded here.

The Heart is a Drum Machine (The Score):

1. "Born"

2. "A Flood of Light"

3. "Quaalude Youth"

4. "Bad Mood Rising/Dimensionless"

5. "Rocket Man" (ft. Maynard James Keenan)

6. "Requiem for a Dying Star/Ode to a Twinkling New..."

7. "Last Dose"

8. "The Great Pleasures (Dedicated to James...)"

9. "From Forlorn Frequencies"

10. "After the Mutiny"

11. "Get On"

12. "Flowing Home"