Fela! - Original Broadway Cast Recording Heading Our Way This Summer

<i>Fela! - Original Broadway Cast Recording</i> Heading Our Way This Summer
If you fell in love with the hit Broadway musical about legendary Nigerian musician Fela Kuti, you may be pleased to know that a soundtrack release is soon heading our way.

The album, Fela! - Original Broadway Cast Recording, will be available for consumption on June 8 and features New York Afrobeat kings Antibalas as the backing band to actor/director Sahr Ngaujah's portrayal of Kuti. The record is being released by Knitting Factory Records, who have also been busy reissuing the famous singer/composer's albums, and pre-orders for the soundtrack begin here on Tuesday (April 20).

The at-the-time off-Broadway show was voted best of 2008 by New York Magazine under the direction world-famous choreographer Bill T. Jones. The show later previewed on Broadway in October of 2009.

The soundtrack features all of the compositions from the Broadway show, including several songs performed by Tony-winning actor Lilias White, who plays Kuti's mother in the show, and Saycon Sengbloh, who plays Kuti's American girlfriend.

The album was produced by the Grammy-nominated Robert Sher (Gypsy, The Wizard of Oz).

Oh, and if you happen to find yourself in New York anytime soon, the Broadway show is still running and tickets and info can be found here.

Fela! - Original Broadway Cast Recording:

1. "Everything Scatter"

2. "Yellow Fever/Ikoyi Blindness"
3. "Trouble Sleep"
4. "Teacher Don't Teach Me Nonsense"
5. "Lover"
6. "Upside Down"
7. "Expensive Shit"
8. "I.T.T."
9. "Water Get No Enemy/Egbe Mi O"
10. "Zombie"
11. "Na Poi"
12. "Sorrow Tears and Blood"
13. "Dance of the Orisas/Shakara"
14. "Rain"
15. "Coffin Head of State"