Extreme Noise Terror Return with Self-Titled LP

Extreme Noise Terror Return with Self-Titled LP
UK grind progenitors Extreme Noise Terror are dialling their amps past 10 again and have just announced their first full-length assault in over six years. The band's sixth studio long-player is self-titled, and it drops November 5 via Willowtip Records.

A press release notes that the album, which follows 2008's Law of Retaliation, finds the band returning to their hardcore roots, adding that Extreme Noise Terror possesses a "manic, stripped-down and highly aggressive raw sound." The album was tracked with producer Mark H. Harwood at Suffolk, UK's Springvale Studios.

Sadly, the record comes in the wake of the 2011 death of vocalist Phil Vane. Long-running co-vocalist and band founder Dean Jones is joined on the mic by Ben McCrow, who entered the ENT fold in 2014.

"I was a big fan of Extreme Noise Terror as a teen, long before I joined, specifically of A Holocaust in Your Head and Phonophobia," McCrow said in a statement, adding that the new recordings feature "catchy as fuck, aggressive, ultra hardcore punk riffs, fast frantic drumming and mental vocals."

He added: "I don't think Dean's ever sounded as insane as he does on this one! It's raw as fuck too, no click tracks or fixing-in-the-mix type shit, instead the drums, bass and guitars were done live with the leads added after and me and Dean sharing a mic going through a seventy-six-year-old analogue valve amp."

For his part, Jones said the 13-song set delivers an "original blend of frenetic, super hi-octane fuelled madness mixed with a few 'Show Us You Care'-style, catchy-as-hell, circle moshing breakup bits."

In addition to the tweaked-up Extreme Noise Terror lineup, the record features leads from guest guitarist Kody of Singapore hardcore unit Minus. While containing a number of original ENT tunes, the band have also reworked '80s-era Japanese punk crew Outo's "I Like Cola" as "I Like Coca."

Samples from the set have yet to go live, but you'll find the tracklisting info for Extreme Noise Terror down below.

Extreme Noise Terror:

1. Punk Rock Patrol     
2. Dogma, Intolerance, Control  
3. No One Is Innocent   
4. I Like Coca (Outo "I Like Cola")          
5. Think Outside The Box          
6. Chained & Crazed     
7. An Endless Cycle Of Misery  
8. Sheep In Wolf's Clothing       
9. Cash And Trash        
10. Cruel And Unusual Punishment        
11. Last Fix Of Fame    
12. Cage Paralysis       
13. Only In It For The Music Pt. 27 (Black Putrefaction)