Elvis Costello Preps New Americana Album

Elvis Costello Preps New Americana Album
Elvis Costello is set to get back to America's roots on his forthcoming new full-length, Secret, Profane & Sugarcane.

Due out June 2 on Starbucks' record label, Hear Music, this follow-up to last year's Momofuku will be a largely acoustic effort and feature country and bluegrass musicians as Costello's backing band.

At the boards, the album boasts veteran producer T Bone Burnett, who previously did Costello's King of America and Spike LPs, and recorded his latest during a three-day session at Nashville's Sound Emporium Studio.

Burnett lends six-string to several tracks, and guest star Emmylou Harris sings on one song. Ten of the compositions are Costello originals, while two were co-written with Burnett, another with Loretta Lynn and "Hidden Shame" was originally penned by Costello for Johnny Cash. The vinyl version of Sugarcane will feature two bonus tracks: Costello's sequel to the Appalachian murder ballad "What Lewis Did Last" and a cover of the Velvet Underground's "Femme Fatale."

Costello is preparing to do a few tour dates in June and August with the Sugarcanes, a band made up of musicians who played on the new album. And while those dates have yet to be announced, here is the tracklisting for Secret, Profane & Sugarcane:

1. "Down Among the Wine and Spirits"
2. "Complicated Shadows"
3. "I Felt the Chill"
4. "My All Time Doll"
5. "Hidden Shame"
6. "She Handed Me a Mirror"
7. "I Dreamed of My Old Lover"
8. "How Deep is the Red"
9. "She Was No Good"
10. "Sulfur to Sugarcane"
11. "Red Cotton"
12. "The Crooked Line"
13. "Changing Partners "
14. "Femme Fatale" *
14. "What Lewis Did Last" *

* Vinyl bonus track