Dr. Dre Officially Announces 'Compton' Soundtrack

Dr. Dre Officially Announces 'Compton' Soundtrack
A few days ago, Ice Cube said that Dr. Dre would be releasing an album this Saturday (August 1). Although that isn't happening, Dre has now formally announced the impending arrival of Compton A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre.

The album is inspired by the forthcoming N.W.A. biopic Straight Outta Compton. It will be out on August 7 through Aftermath/Interscope Records and is exclusive to iTunes/Apple Music. It's available to pre-order here.

That's the album cover above and the tracklist below. It's jam-packed with guests including Kendrick Lamar, Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, Xzibit, Jill Scott, BJ the Chicago Kid and more.

This is the endlessly awaited follow-up to 1999's album 2001. For years, Dre had been saying that he was working on an album called Detox, and he explained the reason for the delay on the latest episode of his Beats 1 radio show The Pharmacy. He said [via Pitchfork], "I didn't like it. It wasn't good. The record, it just wasn't good… I worked my ass off on it, and I don't think I did a good enough job." Apparently it's been scrapped entirely.

The N.W.A. film Straight Outta Compton will arrive in cinemas on August 14, a week after Dre's album drops. It's directed by F. Gary Gray.

Compton A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre:

1. Intro
2. Talk About It (ft. King Mez & Justus)
3. Genocide (ft. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. It's All on Me (ft. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. All in a Day's Work (ft. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. Darkside/Gone (ft. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. Loose Cannons (ft. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. Issues (ft. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. Deep Water (ft. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. One Shot One Kill (ft. Snoop Dogg)
11. Just Another Day (ft. Asia Bryant)
12. For the Love of Money (ft. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. Satisfaction (ft. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. Animals (ft. Anderson Paak)
15. Medicine Mane (ft. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. Talking to My Diary