Doves' Jimi Goodwin Goes Solo for 'Odludek,' Shares New Track

Doves' Jimi Goodwin Goes Solo for 'Odludek,' Shares New Track
We already knew that Doves singer Jimi Goodwin was working on a solo album while the band were on hiatus, and now he's finally confirmed the details of that impending LP. Odludek is due out on March 25 through Heavenly.

The album was co-produced by Goodwin, along with Dan Austin (Surfer Blood, Pixies, Doves). The record features songs co-written with Elbow's Guy Garvey, plus one with Paul Weller collaborator Simon Dine, and it's apparently a hook-filled and stylistically diverse affair.

Goodwin said in a statement, "I wanted to make this mad mixtape, the kind you'd pass back and forth with your mates; eclectic as fuck. That's the way we've all discovered music over the years isn't it? We join our own dots to make it all make sense.

"As I got into making the record, it felt like I was proving something to myself, making a point that I could do all this on my own. You know — I can play bass, I can play guitar, I can orchestrate. As the methods changed, the original concept stayed intact. It's me, powering through ideas, kapow kapow, no pause for breath. It's not trying to be wilfully eclectic; it's just a reflection of how I schizophrenically devour music."

The tracklist is below and the album cover is above. At the bottom of this page, stream the gradually swelling acoustic rock anthem "Oh! Whiskey."


1. Terracotta Warrior
2. Didsbury Girl
3. Live Like a River
4. Hope
5. Man v Dingo
6. Keep My Soul in Song
7. Oh! Whiskey
8. Ghost of the Empties
9. Lonely at the Drop
10. Panic Tree