DOOMSQUAD Return with 'Total Time'

DOOMSQUAD Return with 'Total Time'
After spending last summer joined at the hip to Fucked Up, Toronto-based family band DOOMSQUAD have splintered off to deliver their first full-length release since 2014. Titled Total Time, the collection is due to drop April 29 through Hand Drawn Dracula in Canada and via Bella Union in the rest of the world.

While the trio of Trevor, Jaclyn and Allie Blumas issued the Pageantry Suite EP in 2015, Total Time is the official follow-up to 2014's Kalaboogie.

A press release explains that DOOMSQUAD travelled down to New Mexico to write and record the LP, with the desert setting leading the band to produce a work marked with "dark, pulsating beats interspersed with hypnotic, incantatory jams."

Inspiration was apparently pulled from artists including author George Bataille, Canadian voice expressionist Tanya Tagaq and Throbbing Gristle/Psychic TV leader Genesis P-Orridge.

DOOMSQUAD also reached out to a few musicians for a helping hand, including Holy Fuck's Graham Walsh, who produced the record, in addition to laying down "driving, dirty bass lines."

Elsewhere, avant-garde artist Mary Margaret O'Hara sung on "The Very Large Array," while Fucked Up's Mike Haliechuk, David Foster (a.k.a. HUREN) and members of Not the Wind, Not the Flag also make appearances.

You'll find the tracklisting info below. There, you'll also find a stream of first single "Solar Ass," which is described as both "a love song to a donkey" and "a song for paying respect to the smaller, under-appreciated elements that carry us through our contemporary lives."

Total Time:

1. Who Owns Noon in Sandusky
2. Pyramids on Mars
3. Collective Insanity
4. Its the Nail That Counts, Not the Rope
5. Solar Ass
6. Farmer's Almanac
7. The Very Large Array
8. Eat The Love
9. Russian Gaze