DJ Khaled Suffering From Success

DJ KhaledSuffering From Success
Known as one of the most successful DJs in the early '00s, DJ Khaled has since adopted the title of biggest compilation album curator over the past five years. Producing club bangers like "We Takin' Over" and "Welcome To My Hood," DJ Khaled is back once again with his bravely titled Suffering from Success. Setting the tone for the 16-track project, the album opens with "Obama (Winning More Interlude)," to the tune of the hit "All I Do is Win." With an all-star line-up filled with members of YMCMB, MMG and Bad Boy, Suffering from Success delivers like-minded tracks such as "No New Friends," featuring Drake, Rick Ross and Lil Wayne, and the PR stunt-driven "I Wanna Be With You," featuring Nicki Minaj and Future. Despite several big-name producers, including Young Chop, Timbaland and J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, it's the J.Cole-produced "Hells Kitchen" that pleasantly breaks the monotony of the club-banger blueprint, while the StreetRunner- and Rugah Rahj-produced "No Motive" offers a hint of EDM and synthesizer simplicity. Likewise, "Never Surrender," featuring Scarface, Jadakiss, Meek Mill and Akon, as well as the soulful vocals of John Legend and Anthony Hamilton, proves to be not only the most experimental song on the album, but also its greatest standout track. "You haters can't stop me, I'm a franchise!" boasts DJ Khaled on "You Don't Want These Problems." Unfortunately, that's exactly what this album represents. While DJ Khaled has the power to curate a memorable album with the producers and artists featured, this record fails to stick. Despite being titled Suffering from Success, what it's actually ailing it is a lack of originality. (Universal Republic/Cash Money/Young Money)