DeVotchKa Announce New 100 Lovers LP

DeVotchKa Announce New <i>100 Lovers</i> LP
After more than a decade as a band, world fusion rockers DeVotchKa are reaping the rewards of their hard work. In 2006, they wrote the Grammy-nominated soundtrack for the film Little Miss Sunshine, and in 2008, released A Mad & Faithful Telling via Anti- Records. Now, the band are preparing to release 100 Lovers on February 15, once again via Anti-.

UPDATE: The album is now due out March 1.

This latest album was recorded in the Arizona desert with producer Craig Schumacher (Neko Case, Calexico). According to a press release, "The resulting work is as epic as the landscape in which it was recorded, the 15 new songs offering an emotionally charged sonic expansiveness while retaining all the heartfelt romance and celebratory energy for which the group is known."

The band's soundtrack work influenced the record, as opening track "The Alley" reportedly "begins with melancholy strings before swelling into a powerful and reflective ballad featuring [frontman] Nick Urata's otherworldly tenor crooning." Members of Calexico will appear on the album, along with Thom Yorke percussionist Mauro Refosco.

100 Lovers:

1. "The Alley"
2. "All the Sand in All the Sea"
3. "One Hundred Other Lovers"
4. "The Common Good"
5. "Interlude 1"
6. "The Man from San Sebastian"
7. "Exhaustible"
8. "Interlude 2"
9. "Bad Luck Heels"
10 "Ruthless"
11. "Contrabanda"
12. "Sunshine"