Devin Townsend Project Reveals 'Epicloud' LP, Books North American Tour

Devin Townsend Project Reveals 'Epicloud' LP, Books North American Tour
Strapping Young Lad alumnus Devin Townsend has previously released 14 solo LPs, so it comes as no surprise to learn that the eclectic Canadian metalhead has a new one on the way. Entitled Epicloud, Townsend has now confirmed the details of his latest collection, which is out on September 18.

The album, which will be released with his Devin Townsend Project, includes 13 songs, while the limited-edition version will come with a bonus disc containing ten demos. Townsend wrote on YouTube that this album "is unique to me in that I became interested in simpler, commercial structures."

Having released some ambitious and experimental offerings in recent years, this one finds Townsend delving into what he described as "catchy songwriting." He further elaborated, "I wanted something catchy as the flu, but with a sentiment that is romantic, positive and beautiful. Spiritual without religion and set to heavy music. Again, because some structures are 'common' (but new to me) this record is my take on what a big, epic, commercial sounding record that sings about nice stuff would sound like in Dev-land."

The collection includes a re-recording of his song "Kingdom" from the 2000 album Physicist. See the tracklist for the deluxe version below, and scroll to the bottom of the page to see a brief trailer containing the choral album cut "Effervescent!"

Devin Townsend Project will hit the road in North America this September with Paradise Lost and Katatonia. See the tour schedule below, and see Townsend's full international schedule (which includes lots of European gigs) over at Facebook.


Disc 1:

1. Effervescent!

2. True North

3. Lucky Animals

4. Liberation

5. Where We Belong

6. Save Our Now

7. Kingdom

8. Divine

9. Grace

10. More!

11. Lessons

12. Hold On

13. Angel

Disc 2 (deluxe edition only):

1. Believe (demo)

2. Happy Birthday (demo)

3. Quietus (demo)

4. Heatwave (demo)

5. Love Tonight (demo)

6. The Mind WASP (demo)

7. Woah No! (demo)

8. Love And Marriage (demo)

9. Socialization (demo)

10. Little Pig (demo)

Tour dates:  

9/4 Seattle, WA - Studio 7 *
9/5 Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom *
9/7 San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall *
9/8 Los Angeles, CA - El Rey Theater *
9/9 Phoenix, AZ - Marquee Theater *
9/11 Houston, TX - Warehouse Live Studio *
9/12 Dallas, TX - Trees *
9/13 Lawrence, IN - Granada *
9/14 Denver, CO - Summit *
9/16 Minneapolis, MN - Station 4 *
9/17 Chicago, IL - Bottom Lounge *
9/18 Pittsburgh, PA - Mr. Smalls *
9/19 Toronto, ON - Opera House *
9/20 Montreal, QC - Cafe Campus *
9/21 Worcester, MA - Palladium *
9/22 Philadelphia, PA - TLA *
9/23 New York, NY - Irving Plaza *
9/24 Baltimore, MD - Rams Head Live *

* with Paradise Lost, Katatonia