Deerhoof Sign to Polyvinyl for "Blissfully Exuberant" Deerhoof vs. Evil

Deerhoof Sign to Polyvinyl for 'Blissfully Exuberant' <i>Deerhoof vs. Evil</i>
Back in June, we reported that indie rock oddballs Deerhoof were working on a new album, their first since 2008's Offend Maggie. Now, we have confirmation that the San Francisco foursome will be bringing back the weird on January 25 with a new LP, Deerhoof vs. Evil.

For the North American CD/LP release, the band have signed to Polyvinyl, having parted ways with their longtime label, Kill Rock Stars. The cassette version will be handled by Joyful Noise, while ATP will put the album out in the UK and Polyvinyl in Europe. In Japan, it's due out January 6 via P-Vine. And no, that's not a fan-made piece of Photoshop art above. That's the real album cover.

Of the new album, Polyvinyl says, "The musical equivalent of hormones raging out of control, it explodes out of the speakers with its gawky triumph and inflamed sentimentality. These are songs that practically demand that you dance and sing along (however elastic the rhythms, or abrupt the melodies)."

Deerhoof vs. Evil was "completely self-recorded, mixed and mastered in practice spaces and basements with no engineers or outside input," and includes a "cover of an obscure Greek film soundtrack instrumental ('Let's Dance the Jet'), and a song done for NY artist Adam Pendleton's documentary film installation BAND ('I Did Crimes for You')." Despite its DIY genesis, the disc promises to be "polished, blissfully exuberant, and huge-sounding."

You can download the song "The Merry Barracks" over at Polyvinyl in exchange for an email address. You can also pre-order the album on CD, pink or back vinyl, or T-shirt with a download code.

Thanks to Pitchfork for the heads-up.

Deerhoof vs. Evil:

1. "Qui Dorm, Només Somia"

2. "Behold a Marvel in the Darkness"

3. "The Merry Barracks"

4. "No One Asked to Dance"

5. "Let's Dance the Jet"

6. "Super Duper Rescue Heads!"

7. "Must Fight Current"

8. "Secret Mobilization"
9. "Hey I Can"

10. "C'Moon"

11. "I Did Crimes for You"

12. "Almost Everyone, Almost Always"