Death Announce New Archival Release

Death Announce New Archival Release
As previously reported, Detroit proto punks Death are gearing up to release a new 7-inch of old material. Today (February 11), we learn that they've also got a third archival album in the works.

The record is called III and follows Death's breakthrough release of their 1974 album, ...For the Whole World to See, in 2009 and the Spiritual, Mental, Physical comp in 2011.

III includes some of the final recordings with founding member David Hackney, who succumbed to lung cancer in 2000. The songs on the album were recorded in 1975, 1976, 1980 and 1992.

"North Street" will be released on the aforementioned 7-inch with "We're Gonna Make It" on February 18. The song can be streamed below.

III will be released on April 22 via Drag City. The tracklisting is available below.

Thanks to Pitchfork for the tip.


1. Introduction by David
2. North Street
3. Open Road
4. We Are Only People
5. Restlessness
6. Free
7. Yes He's Coming
8. First Snowfall in Detroit
9. We're Gonna Make It