Death Announce First New Album Since '70s

Death Announce First New Album Since '70s
Detroit proto-punkers Death have enjoyed an unlikely second coming in recent years, with a long-lost album and a successful documentary promoting the group to reconvene for live shows. Now, Death have announced their first new album since the '70s. N.E.W. will be out on April 21 through Drag City.

While there have been a few archival records in the past few years, this is Death's first collection of newly recorded music since their return. It contains some songs originally written back in the '70s, plus some newly composed tunes. According to a press release, the new songs "continue the timeless vibe, feel and resolve of Death with remarkable drive and vigour."

There are 10 songs in all, which "are true to the historic Death tradition of straight ahead rock'n'roll via Detroit of the '70s."

That's the album cover above and the tracklist below.

To sample a bit of what Death cooked up, hear the pounding, start-stop rocker "Look at Your Life" at the bottom of this page. If you're suitably impressed, N.E.W. is available to order on vinyl, CD, tape or digital download right here.


1. At the Station
2. Change
3. Look at Your Life
4. Playtime
5. Relief
6. Resurrection
7. Story of the World
8. The Times
9. Who Am I
10. You Are What You