Conor Oberst To Release Album On Merge

Conor Oberst To Release Album On Merge
For those itching for some new sounds from modern-day troubadour Conor Oberst, you’ll get some August 5 via a spanking, new full-length. This time around, however, they will come minus the usual Bright Eyes banner, with Oberst making the very adult move of releasing the album under his Christian name, plain and simple. The album, again simply titled Conor Oberst, will mark his first solo recording in some 13 years, even though Bright Eyes has always seemed to work more as a solo vehicle than some collaborative full-band project.

Also with this solo release, the songwriter will temporarily be leaving his home base of Saddle Creek, the Omaha label he co-founded in 1993, and instead putting out the album on long-time indie giant Merge Records. The recording was laid down in Tepoztlán, Morelos, México, a place apparently known for Aztec magic and extraterrestrial sightings, last winter and features a "special band” known as the Mystic Valley Band. Oberst also produced the album, along with some help from engineer and long-time collaborator Andy LeMaster.

With the Mystic Valley Band in tow, Oberst will be touring in support of the record throughout the summer, with four dates already lined up and more to be announced shortly.


1 Cape Cañaveral
2 Sausalito
3 Get-Well-Cards
4 Lenders In The Temple
5 Danny Callahan
6 I Don’t Want To Die (In The Hospital)
7 Eagle On A Pole
8 Moab
9 NYC – Gone, Gone
10 Valle Místico (Ruben's Song)
11 Souled Out!!!
12 Milk Thistle

Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band tour dates:

8/22 Leeds Festival - England
8/24 Reading Festival - England
8/31 Electric Picnic - County Laois, Ireland
9/27 ACL Music Festival - Austin, TX