Community Theatre 'Northern Register' (album stream)

Community Theatre'Northern Register' (album stream)
Canadian labels Headless Owl and You've Changed teamed up last year to send a group of their finest artists to Whitehorse, and the result was a freshly formed supergroup called Community Theatre. The artist collective has now prepped their debut record Northern Register, and you can listen to it first right here on

The extensive and impressive lineup includes Mathias Kom (the Burning Hell), Kyle Cashen (Old Time Machine), Chris Adeney (Wax Mannequin), Michael Feuerstack (formerly known as Snailhouse), Steve Lambke (Baby Eagle), Ian Kehoe (Marine Dreams), Jim Kilpatrick (Shotgun Jimmie), Richard Laviolette, and Colleen Collins and David Trenaman (Construction & Destruction). The album artwork comes courtesy of Shary Boyle.

Rehearsed and recorded in a Yukon cabin, the album showcases a variety of styles from the dark, breathy minimalism of "Engines" to upbeat, singalong ode to the Northern Lights "Onward and Upward" to grunge-y rocker "Snailhouse" and finally ending up at the gorgeous, folky album closer "Will You Know." Despite the range of genres, styles and voices, there's an undeniable thread of Canadiana and collaboration holding it all together.

Northern Register arrives on October 7, but you can grab a warm beverage, cozy up to a fire and give it a listen right now in the player below.