Clutch Prep New Album

Clutch Prep New Album
Maryland-based groove rock quartet Clutch have finally finished their follow-up to 2007's highly-acclaimed From Beale Street To Oblivion. It's set to be released on July 7 via their Weathermaker Music label.

The ninth studio album is called Strange Cousins From The West and features 11 brand new tracks produced by the band, with the assistance of J. Robbins, at Magpie Cage Studios in Baltimore. The track "50,000 Unstoppable Watts" has been selected as the first single/video, as label manager Jon Nardachone reports. He has also confirmed that the album will be available digitally and as hard-copy through RED Distribution.

While Weathermaker has been in existence for a couple of years, and a number of Clutch-related releases have seen the light of day through it, Strange Cousins From The West is actually the first original Clutch material issued through the label.

Strange Cousins From The West also features another first: vocalist Neil Fallon singing in Spanish. The band opted to cover the Poppo's Blues Band track "Algo Ha Cambiado." For us who have no clue as to who that is, the band relate that Poppo was "a legendary Argentinean hard rock singer/guitarist throughout the '70s and '80s." Good to know.

Strange Cousins From The West tracklisting:

"Motherless Child"
"Struck Down"
"50,000 Unstoppable Watts"
"Abraham Lincoln"
"The Amazing Kreskin"
"Let a Poor Man Be"
"Algo Ha Cambiado"
"Sleestak Lightning"

For more information, visit,