Cleaners From Venus Ready 'Rose of the Lanes,' Share "Denmark Street" Video

Cleaners From Venus Ready 'Rose of the Lanes,' Share "Denmark Street" Video
British indie pop stalwart Martin Newell released a compilation of recent demo material earlier this year through Captured Tracks, and now he's set to deliver more new work with his Cleaners From Venus project. Rose of the Lanes is due out on September 28 through Soft Bodies Records, marking the 14th album from Newell under the particular moniker.
A press release describes it as an album that cements Newell as the "poet laureate of late summer melancholy," making for a rather timely release. The songs promise a range of sound from "fuzzed-up, stripped-down rock" to more wistful fare, though Newell's "wise, wry, sceptical, lovelorn" voice provides a connecting thread throughout.
A description on the album's Bandcamp page notes that Newell "recorded everything using only a Tascam DP-006 Pocketstudio and Audacity freeware — both of which are exceptional — along with his talent."

The first taste of the new material arrives as "Denmark Street," which has been given the visual treatment in a new clip. The video features Newell as a Dickensian ghost-like figure travelling back through time to observe the now dwindling, once iconic musical hotbed mentioned in the title of the track. Scroll past the Rose of the Lanes tracklisting below and hit play to give the video for "Denmark Street" a watch.
Rose of the Lanes:
1. Rose of the Lanes
2. Little French Blue
3. Isn't She The Biz
4. Ministry of Light
5. Queen Khartoum
6.Third Summer of Love
7. Liverpool Judy
8. Tatterdemalion
9. Garage Flowers
10. Billy Liar
11. Rusty River
12. Lazy Elaine
13. Denmark Street
14. My Young Mum
15. Glammy Little Christmas