Cex Returns to Tigerbeat6, Readies Battaile Royale

Cex Returns to Tigerbeat6, Readies <i>Battaile Royale</i>
Baltimore, MD electronic artist Cex has mucked around with a variety of sounds over his impressive career, including glitch pop, IDM (remember that?) and weird techno. He's also explored an equally diverse roster of record labels, including stints with Jade Tree and Temporary Residence. Now, seven years after his last release for the label, Cex has re-signed with Kid606's Tigerbeat6 imprint.

For the label, Cex has prepared a brand new album. Titled Bataille Royale, the record is due out in September from the label. According to a press release, the album sees Cex "opting to push the sound to its trippiest limits by incorporating his equally long-standing passion for the exquisite European electronica of Autechre, Vladislav Delay, Pan Sonic and Basic Channel."

Besides the standard release, eight of the album's nine tracks will be come out on limited twelve-inch records from Cex's Must Finish imprint. If you want one, you're likely going to want to act fast.

Bataille Royale:

1. "Lazt gasp"

2. "Roland park acid"

3. "Pond & Hooper"

4. "991"

5. "The fifth one"

6. "Freq"

7. "1i"

8. "Brains out"

9. "Criticality"