Built to Spill's 'Keep It Like a Secret' Treated to Vinyl Repress

Built to Spill's 'Keep It Like a Secret' Treated to Vinyl Repress
Boise, ID indie rock mainstays Built to Spill may be tight-lipped on the arrival of their long-in-the-works new LP, but the beans have been, well, spilled regarding an upcoming repress of their iconic 1999 LP Keep It Like a Secret.

While the original LP arrived at the turn of the century through Warner Bros., the upcoming reissue lands on 180-gram vinyl on August 11 via Music on Vinyl. A double-LP reissue arrived through Warner Bros. in 2007, but this upcoming edition brings it all back to a single wax platter.

A press release notes that this was Built to Spill's "pop" album, with leader Doug Martsch favouring three-minute arrangements that preserved the crew's twisty tunesmithing while opting out of "the long, cerebral jamming that characterized their earlier albums." That said, "Temporarily Blind" weighs in at over eight minutes long. It was recorded in 1998 at Washington's Bear Creek Studio with producer Phil Ek, with additional material tracked at Seattle's Avast! Studios.

As before, the repress closes out with the exclusive vinyl track "Forget Remember When." You'll find the tracklisting and a stream of the LP down below.

Meanwhile, the band have been mum on the next Built to Spill album. Back in 2011, Martsch explained that the group were slowly putting it together, with working titles for tracks including "Living Zoo," "So," "Never Be the Same" and "Open."

"I'm trying to keep the songs short," he said at the time of the direction of the tunes, "and there's a couple of pretty poppy songs. But they're all in different stages right now, and it's hard to tell what real direction they'll take."

Keep It Like a Secret:

1. The Plan

2. Center Of The Universe

3. Carry The Zero

4. Sidewalk

5. Bad Light

6. Time Trap
7. Else

8. You Were Right

9. Temporarily Blind
10. Broken Chairs
11. Forget Remember When