Brian Eno Talks "Sound-Only Movies," Unveils Small Craft on a Milk Sea Tracklist

Brian Eno Talks 'Sound-Only Movies,' Unveils <i>Small Craft on a Milk Sea</i> Tracklist
In case you haven't noticed, we're pretty excited about Brian Eno's upcoming new album. The record, entitled Small Craft on a Milk Sea, is his first for electronic powerhouse Warp Records, and will feature collaborations with composers Leo Abrahams and Jon Hopkins. As such, any details are a big deal to us when they emerge.

We already know that Small Craft will be available with some pretty fancy packaging options, including two equally enticing limited box sets. Now, we're happy to report that the album's tracklisting is available below. With track titles like "Complex Heaven" and "Bone Jump," we're even more exciting to hear the whole thing.

If you're wondering about the three artists' working relationship, Warp issued a statement [via The Quietus] with some choice words from Eno. Here's our favourite statement:

"The work in this collection is a result of an occasional collaboration between myself, Leo Abrahams and Jon Hopkins. The two of them are gifted young player/composers whose work, like mine, is intimately connected to the possibilities and freedoms of electronic music. Over the last few years we've worked together several times, enjoying exploring the huge new sonic territories now available to musicians. Mostly the pieces on this album resulted not from 'composition' in the classical sense, but from improvisation. The improvisations are not attempts to end up with a song, but rather with a landscape, a feeling of a place and perhaps the suggestion of an event. In a sense they deliberately lack 'personality': there is no singer, no narrator, no guide as to what you ought to be feeling. If these pieces had been used in films, the film would complete the picture. As they stand, they are the mirror-image of silent movies - sound-only movies."

Look for Small Craft on a Milk Sea from Warp on November 2.

Small Craft on a Milk Sea:

1. "Complex Heaven"
2. "Small Craft on a Milk Sea"
3. "Flint March"
4. "Horse"
5. "2 Forms of Anger"
6. "Bone Jump"
7. "Dust Shuffle"
8. "Paleosonic"
9. "Slow Ice, Old Moon"
10. "Lesser Heaven"
11. "Calcium Needles"
12. "Emerald and Stone"
13. "Written, Forgotten"
14. "Late Anthropocene"