Brian Eno Unearths Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material for New Series of Expanded Reissues

Brian Eno Unearths Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material for New Series of Expanded Reissues
All Saints Records had already promised that some new reissues from Brian Eno would be arriving in 2014. Sure enough, we've now got the details of the impending expanded editions of his albums Nerve Net (1992), The Shutov Assembly (1992), Neroli (Thinking Music Part IV) (1993), and The Drop (1997). They will be out on December 2.

Each album will be released in a two-CD version, with the original album on disc one and bonus material on disc two. There will also be vinyl editions, but these contain less in the way of extras. Neroli, on the other hand, is CD-only, since Eno didn't want to break up the 58-minute-long track to fit on vinyl. For the most part, these albums focus on the ambient side of Eno's output (although some of the material on Nerve Net is an exception).

Also included is a 16 page booklet compiling photos, images and writing by Eno himself relevant to each release.

As for the bonus material, perhaps the most exciting thing here is that the scrapped album My Squelchy Life will finally be getting a commercial release. It had be slated to come out in 1991, but Eno withdrew it soon before its release. It has been bootlegged over the years.

Neroli also includes a particularly substantial bonus cut: "New Space Music," which is an unreleased hour-long ambient piece from 1992. The Drop, meanwhile includes a couple of exclusive cuts on the vinyl edition ("Slicing System" and "Sharply Cornered"), plus a special vinyl edit of final track "Iced World."

See the expanded CD tracklist below. They can be pre-ordered through the links on Eno's website. (Those same links will take you to the vinyl edition tracklists.)

Nerve Net:

CD 1 - Nerve Net:   

1. Fractal Zone
2. Wire Shock
3. What Actually Happened?
4. Pierre In Mist
5. My Squelchy Life
6. Juju Space Jazz
7. The Roil, The Choke
8. Ali Click
9. Distributed Being
10. Web
11. Web (Lascaux Mix)
12. Decentre

CD 2 - My Squelchy Life:

1. I Fall Up
2. The Harness
3. My Squelchy Life
4. Tutti Forgetti
5. Stiff
6. Some Words
7. Juju Space Jazz
8. Under
9. Everybody's Mother
10. Little Apricot
11. Over

The Shutov Assembly:

CD 1 - The Shutov Assembly:

1. Triennale
2. Alhondiga
3. Margraph
4. Lanzarote
5. Francisco
6. Riverside
7. Innocenti
8. Stefelijk
9. Ikebukuro
10. Cavallino

CD 2 - bonus material:

1. Eastern Cities
2. Empty Platform
3. Big Slow Arabs
4. Storm
5. Rendition
6. Prague
7. Alhondiga Variation

Neroli (Thinking Music Part IV)

CD 1 - Neroli (Thinking Music Part IV):

1. Neroli

CD 2 - New Space Music:

1. New Space Music

The Drop:

CD 1 - The Drop

1. Slip, Dip
2. But If
3. Belgian Drop
4. Cornered
5. Block Drop
6. Out / Out
7. Swanky
8. Coasters
9. Blissed
10. M.C. Organ
11. Boomcubist
12. Hazard
13. Rayonism
14. Dutch Blur
15. Back Clack
16. Dear World
17. Iced World

CD 2 - bonus material

1. Never Stomp
2. Systems Piano
3. Bonk 12
4. Luxor Night Car
5. Targa Summer
6. Cold
7. Little Slicer
8. Surf Birds
9. Targa