Brasstronaut Win ECHO Songwriting Prize

Brasstronaut Win ECHO Songwriting Prize
Back in August, we announced the five shortlist contenders for this year's ECHO Songwriting Prize, which included notable Canadian names like the Besnard Lakes, Caribou, Crystal Castles and Young Galaxy. Now, the winner has been announced, and dark horse Brasstronaut has taken home the $5,000 prize.

The Vancouver jazz pop ensemble won for their song "Hearts Trompet," which appears on their Polaris long-listed LP, Mt. Chimaera. The writing is credited to Edo Van Breeman, Bryan Davies, Richard Saul and John Walsh.

The victor was decided in an online poll. Brasstronaut now join the diverse list of past winners that includes the Weakerthans, Abdominal, Propagandhi and D-Sisive.

Brasstronaut tweeted, "Thanks everyone so much for all your kind words and THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO VOTED!! We Hearts Trompet but Hearts YOU more."

The ECHO Songwriting Prize is an annual prize sponsored by SOCAN, whose panel of experts picked the five nominees. The award has frequently earned comparisons to the Polaris Music Prize, as it also honours the best in Canadian music over the past year.