Brakes Ready New Album, Sign to FatCat

Brakes Ready New Album, Sign to FatCat
Leftfield UK popsters Brakes (aka BrakesBrakesBrakes) have set the due date for their upcoming third album, as well as announced a change in label representation. Titled Touchdown, the band's follow-up to 2006's Exclaim!-approved The Beatific Visions will hit shops April 20 and see Brakes leaving Rough Trade for their new label home of FatCat Records.

We're told to expect a more textured offering than the group's previous work, as well as one that more emotionally involved. Also, the band say that while recording Touchdown, which they did with producer Paul Savage (Mogwai, Arab Strap), they laid down some acoustic versions of new and old songs, plus mixed a forthcoming live album. Both the acoustic tracks and the live effort will be available sometime next year, Brakes say on their website.

There's no firm tracklisting for Touchdown just yet, but the band have provided an unsequenced list of recorded songs, of which "Hey Hey" and "Don't Take Me to Space (Man)" will be the first two singles and precede the album.

Here the tracks included on Touchdown:

"Hey Hey It's a Beautiful Day"
"Crush On You"
"Cigarettes go Down"
"Don't Take me to Space (Man)"
"Leaving England"
"Eternal Return"
"Worry About it Later"
"Crystal Tunings"
"Big Guns"
"7th Seal"
"First Dance"
"Gimme Two Shocks"
"Consumer Producer Chicken or Egg"
"Do You Feel the Same?"

Brakes "Porcupine or Pineapple"