Braids, Timber Timbre and Galaxie Lead Quebec Indie Music Awards Nominations

Braids, Timber Timbre and Galaxie Lead Quebec Indie Music Awards Nominations
The Quebec Indie Music Awards (Gala Alternatif de la Musique Indépendente du Québec) announced the nominees for its 2011 edition on Wednesday (September 28). The list of nominees features both anglophone and francophone artists, many of which have far transcended Quebec's borders in popularity.

Leading the pack of nominees are Braids, who are up for Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, Video of the Year, Breakthrough Artist of the Year, and Indie Rock Album of the Year. Timber Timbre also picked up quite a few noms (Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Singer-songwriter Album of the Year), as did Galaxie (Artist of the Year, Show of the Year, Song of the Year, Rock Album of the Year). Other artists nominated include Colin Stetson (Show of the Year, Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Experimental Album of the Year), Miracle Fortress (Electronic Album of the Year) and Les Breastfeeders (Rock'n'Roll Album of the Year).

Specialized juries composed of Quebec-based print, web and broadcast journalists, as well as venue and festival bookers, determined the nominees for the 19 categories from an extensive list provided by GAMIQ of eligible artists and music videos. As of Wednesday (September 28), voting for select categories including Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, Video of the Year and Breakthrough Artist of the Year is open to the public, whose votes will count for 50 percent of the final results, and you can cast your vote at the official GAMIQ website.

The winners are to be announced at the awards show at the Théâtre Plaza (6050 Saint-Hubert) in Montreal on November 13. For any local indie music enthusiasts who want to see if their favourite band wins in their category, tickets for the event are to go on sale in mid-October.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Artist of the Year presented by Artisti
Alaclair Ensemble
Jimmy Hunt
Timber Timbre

Songwriter of the Year presented by SOCAN
Jimmy Hunt
Karim Ouellet
Katie Moore
Philippe B
Timber Timbre

Show of the Year
Alaclair Ensemble
Colin Stetson
Les Breastfeeders

Song of the Year
Alaclair Ensemble - Piles comprises (Mash remélange)
(Written by Ogden, Eman and Maybe Watson, composed by Mash)
Braids - Lemonade
(Written and composed by Braids)
Galaxie - Piste 1
(Written and composed by Olivier Langevin)
Jimmy Hunt - Everything Crash
(Written and composed by Jimmy Hunt)
Philippe B - Petite leçon de ténèbres
(Written and composed by Philippe B)

Video of the Year presented by MusiquePlus
Braids - Plath Heart
(Directed by Blair Neil)
Hollerado - Americanarama
(Directed by Greg Jardin)
Jimmy Hunt - Motocross
(Directed by Yan Giroux)
Panache - Filles et garçons: un dilemme
(Directed by David Valiquette)
Who are you - All Lights On
(Directed by Samuel Matteau)

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Alaclair Ensemble
Colin Stetson
Karim Ouellet

New Artist with the Most Potential
Les Revenants
The Barr Brothers
Tracteur Jack

Singer-songwriter Album of the Year
Jimmy Hunt - Jimmy Hunt
Philippe B - Variations fantômes
Snailhouse - Sentimental Gentleman
The Unsettlers - Oil and Blood
Timber Timbre - Creep On Creepin' On

Electronic Album of the Year
aKido - Gamechanger
Automelodi - Automelodi
Millimetrik - Mystique Drums
Miracle Fortress - Was I The Wave?
Young Galaxy - Shapeshifting

Experimental Album of the Year
AIDS Wolf - March to the Sea
Colin Stetson - New History Warfare Vol.2: Judges
Grimes - Halfaxa
Music for Money - Flying Birds
Tim Hecker - Ravedeath, 1972

Folk/Country Album of the Year
Amanita Bloom - Furniture Music
Caloon Saloon - Buckshot
Chantal Archambault - La romance des couteaux
Katie Moore - Montebello
Tire le coyote - Le fleuve en huile

Hip-Hop Album of the Year
Alaclair Ensemble - 4,99
OG Hindu Kush - In 3D
Random Recipe - Fold It! Mold It!
Socalled - Sleepover
Webster - Le vieux d'la montagne

Indie Rock Album of the Year
Braids - Native Speaker
Little Scream - The Golden Record
Monogrenade - Tantale
Suuns - Zeroes QC
The Luyas - Too Beautiful To Work

Metal/Hardcore Album of the Year
Kataklysm - Heaven's Venom
Les Ékorchés - Frères de sang
Neuraxis - Asylon
The Expectorated Sequence - The Prolonged Disaster
Unexpect - Fables of the Sleepless Empire

Pop Album of the Year
Géraldine - Sold-out capitalisme
Jérôme Dupuis-Cloutier - Gentleman refroidi
Karim Ouellet - Plume
Krista Muir - Between Atoms
Peter Peter - Peter Peter

Punk Album of the Year
Cheval Fou - Brutal bisou
Les Guenilles - Aucun album
Shortpants Romance - Shotgun Divorce
The Nils - The Title Is The Secret Song
The Sainte Catherines - Fire Works

Rock Album of the Year
Dany Placard - Placard
Galaxie - Tigre et diesel
Jesuslesfilles - Une belle table
Tonstartssbandht - Now I Am Become
Uncle Bad Touch - Uncle Bad Touch

Rock'n'Roll Album of the Year
Bloodshot Bill - Thunder and Lightning
Buddy McNeil & the Magic Mirrors - Introducing Once Again
Demon's Claws - The Defrosting Of...
Les Breastfeeders - Dans la gueule des jours
Skip Jensen - The Spirit Of The Ghost

World Album of the Year
Bombolessé - Movimento
Colectivo - Tropical Trash
Heavy Soundz - Tumba Parlantes
LaTourelle Orkestra - LaTourelle Orkestra
The Beatdown - The Beatdown