Born Ruffians Announce Sophomore Album

Born Ruffians Announce Sophomore Album
Back in November, Exclaim! got in touch with Toronto's Born Ruffians to enquire about the band's follow-up to 2007's Red, Yellow, and Blue. In the interview, singer Luke Lalonde mentioned the album would likely be out sometime in 2010, and now, we have confirmation.

Born Ruffians' sophomore album, Say It, is due from Toronto's Paper Bag Records June 1 and via Warp worldwide. The album, according to the band's press release, is "a declaration that they're smart and ambitious enough to make it on their own, and furthermore, that they're in it for the long haul."

The group once again teamed up with Red, Yellow, and Blue producer Rusty Santos, with whom the band apparently "loosed the reins on their ambitions, experimenting with Minimoogs and saxophones before eventually scaling much of it back in the mixing process."

The band's first single from the album is "Sole Brother," which you hear right now in Exclaim!'s Click Hear section.

Born Ruffians currently have only a few tour dates scheduled. The band will play a university show in New York before playing as part of Canadian Music Week in Toronto and SXSW in Austin, TX.

Say It:

1. "Oh Man"
2. "Retard Canard"
3. "Sole Brother"
4. "What To Say"
5. "The Ballad Of Moose Bruce"
6. "Higher & Higher"
7. "Come Back"
8. "Nova-Leigh"
9. "Blood, The Sun & Water"
10. "At Home Now"

Tour dates:

3/4 New York, NY - NYU Kimmel Center * (NYU students only)
3/14 Toronto, ON - CMW Phoenix Concert Theatre
3/17 Austin, TX - SXSW Warp Showcase - The Phoenix
3/18 Austin, TX - SXSW Shuba's Showcase - Yard Dog
3/19 Austin, TX - SXSW Windish Agency Showcase - Emo's

* with Man Man