Boris Announce North American Release Date for 'New Album'

Boris Announce North American Release Date for 'New Album'
It's been a prolific year for experimental Japanese outfit Boris, what with the trio releasing three albums in 2011. But while North American fans were already treated to the shoegaze-inspired Attention Please and the traditionally stoney Heavy Rocks, the Japanese-only New Album was a bit of a mystery. All will be revealed for the patient, however, as the band have announced they'll be issuing the album on our shores.

The record will drop on CD and LP courtesy of Sargent House on November 25. Interestingly, they're saving the digital download for last, issuing the files on December 6.

New Album continues Boris's bizarre evolution, with "the intrepid Japanese trio etching their own post-noise, extreme pop niche with some of their most accessible and melodic music being equally their most subversive," says the press release. Apparently inspired by Japanese pop as much as their past drone work, the record mingles myriad influences.

Opener "Flare" merges speedy punk with bassist/vocalist Takeshi's Sonic Youth-indebted vocals before "elements of glitch and dubstep pepper the proceeding." Other moments are said to recall Björk and dream pop. A redo of Heavy Rocks track "Jackson Head" also replaces the original's chugging metal riffs with glacial synths.

You can download spacey new tune "Spoon" here via Pitchfork.

Boris will no doubt be celebrating moments from each of their recent song cycles on their upcoming North American tour. You can see the dates here.

New Album:

1. "Flare"
2. "Hope"
3. "Party Boy"
4. "Luna"
5. "Spoon"
6. "Pardon?"
7. "Jackson Head"
8. "Les Paul Custom '86"
9. "Tu, La La"
10. "Looprider"