Bon Iver Announces Sophomore Album

Bon Iver Announces Sophomore Album
Following an album trailer and word of a June release, Justin Vernon has rolled out all the details of his new Bon Iver record. Going the self-titled route, the project's sophomore follow-up to 2008's For Emma, Forever Ago will arrive June 21 via Jagjaguwar.

The album features ten new tracks, with the album expanding "the group's sonic palette beyond the rustic acoustics of the debut into a lush landscape of silky electric guitars, beautifully intricate keys and subtle horn and string sections while keeping the ghost choirs and densely layered vocals intact that Bon Iver have become so known for," the press release tells us.

It wasn't a quick process, of course, as it took three years of sweat, and likely some blood and tears, before Vernon wrapped the album, which was recorded and mixed at Fall Creek, WI's April Base Studios, which once was a veterinarian's clinic, was but converted into a studio by Vernon and his brother. The album also features its fair share of guests and regular Bon Iver contributors, including Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan, as well as Rob Moose (the National/Antony and the Johnsons), Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek. Also making an appearance is Montreal's much-in-demand saxophonist Colin Stetson, who has lent his horn to everyone from Arcade Fire to Tom Waits and Timber Timbre.

There's no word of a supporting tour just yet, but we assume that's just around the corner. For now, that's the album cover above and the tracklist below. You will also likely notice that many of the songs are titled after cities, including track eight, "Calgary."

Bon Iver:

1. "Perth"
2. "Minnesota, WI"
3. "Holocene"
4. "Towers"
5. "Michicant"
6. "Hinnom, TX"
7. "Wash."
8. "Calgary"
9. "Lisbon, OH"
10. "Beth/Rest"

Untitled from Bon Iver on Vimeo.